Governance of the University

The University of Chicago, under provisions of the Articles of Incorporation, Bylaws, and Statutes, is governed by a 55-member Board of Trustees. The Trustees are responsible for ensuring the capacity of the University to fulfill its mission for current and future generations. Members of the Board play an integral role by providing oversight and input regarding the University's large scale programmatic goals and its financial and physical resources, and by advocating for the University locally, nationally, and throughout the world. In addition, Trustees provide financial support, as well as leadership in fundraising, to sustain the University's progress.

Much of the Board's work is carried out by its nine standing committees: Audit; Executive; Financial Planning; Institutional Capacity; Investment; Medical Center Executive Committee; Outward Engagement; Trusteeship and Governance; and, University Advancement.

The Trustees recognize that the day-to-day management of the University is the responsibility of the President, and that day-to-day academic affairs are handled directly by the President, Provost, Deans, and Faculties.

Questions concerning the University's Board of Trustees should be directed to the Office of the Secretary of the University.